Buddi

Personal budget software for the rest of us

Backups and Saving

Buddi is designed to ensure that your data is not lost if at all possible. There are two separate safety nets which can help ensure that you are safe:

  1. Auto save
  2. Rotating backups

Each are discussed in turn.

Auto Save

When you create any Buddi document, Buddi will write the changes to disk every 30 seconds (configurable via Preferences), if there has been any changes to the document model. This means that if your computer crashes, you will have lost at most 30 seconds of work.

The location of this file differs based on the state of the data file. If you have already saved the data file (so that the file location is on the title bar in the main Buddi window), the file is saved to the same location, with the extension "buddi3autosave" added. Thus, if the file was saved to /Users/Wyatt/Documents/Buddi/Data.buddi3, the auto save document would be /Users/Wyatt/Documents/Buddi/Data.buddi3autosave.

If you have not yet saved the data file, the file will be saved to the same location your preferences file is set to go to, as it is a reasonable assumption that we have write access to this location (and if not, you already have problems).

***SECURITY NOTE**** If you have not yet saved the file, you have therefore not yet set a password for the data file. In this case, the autosave file will *not* be encrypted, but will be saved in plain text. This could allow a third party who has access to your computer to read your data file. This risk is at least slightly mitigated by the fact that when you first create a file, you have probably not entered too much data.

The auto save file is removed automatically once you save the document via File → Save, or if you exit and do not save changes.

Whenever you start Buddi, whether by opening a data file or just by starting the program manually, we check for the existance of this auto save file. If it exists, we prompt the user that there is an auto save file, and asks if we should load it instead of the regular file.

Rotating Backups

Whenever you save a Buddi file, Buddi will first back it up, using a rotating backup system. For instance, assume that you save the file /Users/Wyatt/Deskop/Test.buddi3. Before saving, we first make a copy of it. This copy is the same name as the main data file, with a "_0" inserted before the extension, and the extension changed to ".buddi3bak". This 0 is the backup number, and means that this was the most recent file backed up. If there is already a _0 file, that one is copied to _1; if _1 exists, it is copied to _2, etc, up to a maximum of the max backup files as defined in Preferences.